CPRA Year-End Personnel Awards and CFR Personnel Announced

September 19, 2023 | Airdrie, AB

CPRA Year-End Personnel Awards and CFR Personnel Announced

The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA) is pleased to announce and congratulate the winners of its year-end personnel awards and Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR) personnel selections for 2023. These awards are decided by votes cast by the top 20 contestants in all major events and CPRA contract members. Event specific awards are voted on by top 20 in that event only.  Junior Steer riders vote only on steer riding contractor of the year.

A talented announcer who is behind the microphone at many of Canada’s biggest events–Brett Gardiner–is the 2023 Announcer of the Year. Brett’s knowledge, attention to detail, work ethic and positive demeanour make him a great choice for this sought after award. From Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Gardiner wins this honour for the 12th consecutive time.The Janet Vold Memorial award – which commemorates the life and contributions of the late Janet Vold – recognizes women in the sport of rodeo who go above and beyond. The namesake of the award, Janet Vold, enjoyed a rodeo secretary career that spanned three decades. A person who took the time to visit with each cowboy or cowgirl, Janet was respected greatly in the rodeo world with her larger than life love and knowledge of the sport. This year’s recipient–for the third consecutive year–is rodeo timer and secretary, Karry Krystal.Athleticism, horsemanship and hours of practice characterize Specialty Act, Dress category award winners, Shelby Pierson and Piper Yule—the Full Throttle Trick Riders. This is the fourth time the amazing combination have won the award.

In the Specialty Act, Comedy category, the 2023 recipient–also for the second year in a row–is Sherwood Park, Alberta’s Rick (Ricky Ticky) Wanchuk.

CFR Personnel Selections

Among the CFR ’48 selected positions for this year’s finals (November 1-5, 2023) are:

Judges: Lane Peterson, Larry Adams, Perry Gurski, Wayne Resch, Corey Prutton, Bernie Rivet, Cam Morris (Video replay)

Timers: Brenda Vold (18th year) and Karry Krystal (1st appearance).

Pickup Men: Calgary Stampede Ranch Manager Tyler Kraft will work his fourth CFR alongside former Bull Riding Champion of Canada, Tyler Thomson who will be making his third appearance.

Bullfighters: Brett Monea will be making his 12th Canadian Finals appearance; he will be joined by Ty Prescott, making his sixth trip to the Finals and, Tanner  Byrne–part of a family bullfighting dynasty–will be in Red Deer for a second consecutive trip.

Announcer – Making his tenth appearance behind the microphone at Peavey Mart Centrium in Red Deer is Brett Gardiner.


The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association with headquarters in Airdrie, AB is the official sanctioning body for Professional Rodeo in Canada. The CPRA approves 55 + events annually with a total payout exceeding $6 million. The organization oversees the SMS Equipment Pro Tour Finale each fall in Armstrong, BC, holds their premiere event–the Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR)–at Westerner Park in Red Deer, AB in early November and endorses the Maple Leaf Circuit Finals as part of Canadian Western Agribition in Regina, SK. For details, please see RodeoCanada.com   For Facebook and Instagram: @prorodeocanadaofficial l Twitter: @prorodeocanada

Media Contact:
Barb Poulsen
Mobile: 403 625-9225
Email: media@rodeocanada.com


become a RODEO insider

Sign up to receive the latest CFR news, events and more!